Fire to compete in NIHL Division 1 for 2019/20

Cardiff Fire have accepted a position in the new NIHL Division 1 structure for the 2019/20 season. The new league will consist of three teams from last seasons Divison 1 – Invicta Dynamos, Streatham HC and Milton Keynes Thunder. The other teams joining will be Cardiff Fire, Slough Jets, Bracknell Hornets, Romford Raiders 2, Solent Devils, Oxford City Stars and Chelmsford Chieftains, making a ten team league.

The new league structure is a result of the formation of the new National League, a league consisting of another 10 teams from the North and South, replacing the former English Premier Ice Hockey League (EPL).

NIHL2 is also continuing to grow with the addition of new development teams to join the remaining teams from last seasons Division 2. Cardiff Fire are also exploring the chance of adding what will be a predominantly Under 23’s team to the new Division 2 set up. Keep an eye on our social media for updates on the progress of this.

Another team owners meeting will take place this Saturday where the league structure and additional competitions will be discussed and decided.